New Beginnings

I started my Master’s program today. My first class is a Multiple Pathways (Linked Learning) Exploration and I’m really excited about it. This is what I want to do, but don’t know how to do. I’m hoping this class will help change that.

We started with an exercise called “Three Questions.”

1) What will the world be like 20 years from now?

2) What skills will your students need to be successful?

3) What should that education look like (i.e. what should students be doing)? How is that different from education today?

We broke into discussion groups, and I loved the different perspectives. Some common threads, but everyone had a slightly different emphasis. Here are our posters:

2014-06-16 11.06.33

This is my group.  I’m clearly obsessed with economic and political instability.

 

2014-06-16 11.05.50    2014-06-16 11.05.58

These two are pretty similar:  more technology, more career skills.

2014-06-16 11.06.20

I love this one, especially “simulations of real-world experiences” and “end result/backward problem solving.”

2014-06-16 11.07.15

This group was the only one to represent their ideas pictorially, as well as to make their poster landscape orientation rather than portrait.

I would write more, but I have homework to do.

 

Leave a Reply

