First Day

Today is the first day of the school year.  I don’t really feel ready, but on the other hand, I’m ready as I’ll ever be.  I’ve got Geometry lesson planned for the first week already, and Algebra 1 just through tomorrow (it’s a double block, so those 4 lessons equal the same amount as I’ve planned for Geometry).  My goal is to do some sort of group discussion activity every day.

My sons helped me set up my classroom last Friday.  I still don’t have teacher’s editions for my textbooks, but since I’m focusing on group work that doesn’t really bother me.  I arranged the desks in groups following Mathy McMatherson’s suggestion. I used Math=Love’s room signs for problem solving and integer operations.  And I added this quote from Melissa Hillman: ”Video games taught me that a giant, open world you know nothing about and bumble your way through like a fool will soon feel like familiar ground as long as you keep playing, pay attention, and see mistakes as gathering information for better problem solving next time.”  I love that and I hope that my students recognize that they already have the skill set to be successful in math!

Leave a Reply

